Publication Date: 16/07/2020 ISBN: 9780718181499 Category:

All Adults Here

Emma Straub

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 16/07/2020 ISBN: 9780718181499 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Out of stock

Description

DISCOVER THE WRY AND AMUSING STORY ABOUT SURVIVING IN A MODERN FAMILY FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER of the Woman & Home Book Choice Awards!

‘A wonderful read’ Elizabeth Strout
‘Literary sunshine’ New York Times
‘A gorgeous and witty storyteller’ Elizabeth Gilbert, author of City of Girls
‘The world will love it’ Ann Patchett
__________

Coming of age isn’t just for kids.

Astrid Strick has always tried to do her best for her three children. Now, they’re finally grown up – but you could be forgiven for thinking otherwise.

Elliott doesn’t have any idea who he really is, or how to communicate with his own sons. Porter is, at last, pregnant – but feels incapable of rising to the challenge. Nicky has fled to distant New Mexico, where he’s living the bohemian dream.

And Astrid herself is up to things that would make her children’s hair curl.

Until now, the family have managed to hide their true selves from each other. But when Nicky’s incorrigibly curious daughter Cecelia comes to stay, her arrival threatens to upturn everything . . .

Witty, astute, and irresistibly readable, All Adults Here is a novel about how to survive inside a modern family from New York Times bestselling author Emma Straub.
__________

Praise for All Adults Here:

‘Smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted . . . Fans of Ann Patchett, Anne Tyler and Lily King should seek [Straub] out’ The Sunday Times

‘This beautifully written book delves deeply, perceptively and humorously into the contemporary human condition’ The Daily Mail

‘A glorious mash-up of Elizabeth Strout and Gilmore Girls’ Red

‘If you’re a fan of Anne Tyler’s writing, you’ll love this captivating well-observed family drama’ Good Housekeeping

Publisher Review

Straub is consistently excellent * Book Riot * Sprinkled with humour and insight * Library Journal * Devilishly observed * Booklist * A precise and observant writer whose supple prose carries the story along without a snag. Straub's characters are a quirky and interesting bunch . . . it's a pleasure spending time with them * Kirkus * Readers will devour this witty and warmly satisfying novel * Publishers Weekly * Wise and often hilarious * Buzzfeed * It would be easy to compare Straub to other masters of the genre like Meg Wolitzer or Jennifer Egan, but she's already a master in her own right * The Millions * Thoughtful and hilarious * Real Simple * Smart and fresh, offering new insights into the lives of people all around us * Brooklyn Magazine * Lovely, satisfying A smart, cool sensibility * Elle * A funny and insightful look at love and relationships * Good Housekeeping * Straub writes with such verve and sympathetic understanding of her characters . . . Reading this novel has all the pleasures of reading one of Anne Tyler's compelling family portraits * New York Times * Warm and big-hearted . . . leaves you smiling for days * bestselling author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette * Hugely talented . . . intelligent holiday reading Smart and entertaining * Stylist * Straub writes beautifully and amusingly . . . hard to beat for sheer charm and gentle wit * Daily Mail * Funny, poignant and beautifully observed It's the beautifully drawn, vibrant characters that make this smart, compelling novel so irresistible Praise for Emma Straub * - * It's good company -- Leigh Haber, Book Editor at O, The Oprah Magazine Perceptive and fun * AARP * There's no drama like family drama as Emma Straub proves in this touching, humorous, and eye-opening new novel... All Adults Here weaves a memorable tale about navigating some of our most important, and most maddening, relationships * Town and Country * The warm and funny novel only Emma Straub can deliver to us in this time of need * Paper Magazine * The book has already roused a flood of fans clamoring to find out how Astrid's story ends * Reader's Digest * Will make you question your entire childhood, and how much your parents influenced it as you learn one mother's perspective of what went right and what went wrong with her own family * Marie Claire * No less charming than the rest of her oeuvre, about one family growing up and ageing, and how the parent-child roles between parents and their children is swapped * Thrillist * As always, Straub draws her characters warmly, making them appealing in their self-centeredness and generosity, their insecurity and hope. . . . Straub has a sharp eye for her characters' foibles and the details of their liberal, upper-middle-class milieu. With humor and insight, Straub creates a family worth rooting for * Kirkus * Straub etches in the comforting, often funny truths readers love her for. Like us, her characters are always getting older but never feeling quite old enough to do the right thing, to be the people they want to be, to let go of the past, and they're certainly never ready to die. An all-out celebration of the life force in ourselves and in our families * Booklist, Starred Review * Emma Straub is a master of the breezy, but still literary, family drama. Her fifth novel. . . . promises to be another sprawling, big-hearted page-turner * LitHub * An affecting family saga that juggles issues as weighty as abortion, gender identity and bullying with ease * USA Today * Likely to be the book that every single person will be reading this summer * Bookpage * A warm and witty story about a family learning to accept the mistakes of the past and feeling their way towards a new, more truthful way of being together. Emma Straub has such a wonderful talent for depicting small-town existence, as well as the challenges and frustrations of family life, that I was utterly immersed in the world of the Stricks. It's one of those books that leaves you feeling as if you've visited a new place and met new friends. All Adults Here is a joy to read -- Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus A wonderful read -- Elizabeth Strout A novel about how we try and fail at every age and yet somehow survive. It is brimming with kindness, forgiveness, humour and love and yet (magically) is also a page turner that held me captive until it was finished. This is Emma Straub's absolute best and the world will love it -- Ann Patchett

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible