Publication Date: 14/11/2019 ISBN: 9781788549790 Category:

A Suspicion of Silver

P.F. Chisholm

Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication Date: 14/11/2019 ISBN: 9781788549790 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris. Sir Robert Carey, Deputy Warden of the West March, has just foiled a double plot to assassinate King James. Now he rides for Leith hunting the would-be killer Joachim Hochstetter. Has he taken ship for the Continent, or ridden south for England and, quite literally, gone to ground?

Originally from Augsburg, Hochstetter’s family runs a smelting business in Keswick amid a colony of German miners. Just how far would they go to protect one of their own?

Sir Robert’s other problem? His dour, difficult Sergeant, Henry Dodd, has disappeared somewhere on the snowy moors. They found his horse… but there’s no sign of the rider. Sir Robert’s searches will see him sorely tested, both above and below ground, at sword’s point and at fuse’s end…

‘Chisholm displays a masterful hand … A resoundingly satisfying conclusion and a terrific hook. I have never loved Sir Robert more’ DANA STABENOW.

Publisher Review

'Fast moving and packed with little-known, but fascinating, historical detail ... Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plotlines from her previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion in a final chilling chase. This new addition to a top-notch series is one of her best - culminating with the setting of a terrific hook on the last page!' Crime Review. 'Chisholm smoothly inserts realistic details of daily life in 16th-century Britain into this fast-moving historical. Those interested in the mining techniques of the period will be gratified' Publishers Weekly. 'Character-driven, swiftly moving, and filled with fascinating historical details about mining and the Scottish border country. Chisholm continues to impress with each new addition to a top-notch series' Kirkus. 'Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plot lines from the previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion, and in setting a terrific hook on the last page. Mickey Spillane, who famously said "The last line sells the next book," would have given her a standing ovation for this one. I have never loved Sir Robert more' Dana Stabenow. 'A fast-moving tale of the 1500's which I thoroughly enjoyed. The description of Carey's fight against his claustrophobia is great and his fear is quite palpable ... A great read' Promoting Crime Fiction by Lizzie Hayes.

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible