Publication Date: 23/01/2020 ISBN: 9781409189879 Category:

A Shadow on the Lens

Sam Hurcom

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 23/01/2020 ISBN: 9781409189879 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The stifling, atmospheric, gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist, perfect for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions, and Little Strangers

****************

1904. Thomas Bexley, one of the first forensic photographers, is called to the sleepy Welsh village of Dinas Powys. A yound girl named Betsan Tilny has been found murdered in the woodland.

One night, he develops the crime scene photographs in the cellar of his lodgings. There, he finds a face dimly visible in the photographs – the shadowed spectre of Betsan Tilny.

In the days that follow, Thomas senses a growing presence watching him as he tries to uncover what the villagers of Dinas Powys are so intent on keeping secret…

****************

‘Gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark’ – GUARDIAN

‘Top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale’ – DAVID YOUNG

‘An intriguing debut’ – THE TIMES

Publisher Review

Wonderfully dark and creepy...I find it hard to believe this is Hurcom's first novel. It's creepy, disturbing, eerie, dark, spine-chilling and macabre in every way that a Gothic thriller should be. It will make you uneasy - but you won't want to put it down. There is a clever and quite brilliant final twist * Crime Review * A promising debut - gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark. * Guardian * An intriguing debut. * The Times * A sparkling debut from a name to watch. Hurcom expertly weaves a tale of claustrophobic suspicion set in a Welsh village a few miles from Cardiff - but so inward-looking and insular you might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale. * David Young *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible