Publication Date: 11/06/2020 ISBN: 9780008373160 Category:

A Place of Execution

Val McDermid

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 11/06/2020 ISBN: 9780008373160 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

A riveting psychological thriller from the Number One bestselling Queen of crime fiction – Val McDermid.
In the Peak District village of Scardale, thirteen-year-old girls didn’t just run away. So when Alison Carter vanished in the winter of ’63, everyone knew it was a murder.

Catherine Heathcote remembers the case well. A child herself when Alison vanished, decades on she still recalls the sense of fear as parents kept their children close, terrified of strangers.

Now a journalist, she persuades DI George Bennett to speak of the hunt for Alison, the tantalizing leads and harrowing dead ends. But when a fresh lead emerges, Bennett tries to stop the story – plunging Catherine into a world of buried secrets and revelations.

‘One of the all-time greats – special in every way’ Lee Child

‘This book changed everything I thought I knew about crime fiction’ Belinda Bauer, bestselling author of Snap

‘Every now and then, a writer transforms the landscape of the literary canon: Val McDermid is one such writer’ Fiona Cummins, bestselling author of Rattle

‘Just mesmerizing’ Joseph Knox, bestselling author of Sirens

‘A brilliant book’ Holly Watt, award winning author of To the Lions

‘From the first pages, we know we’re in the hands of a master ‘ Jeffrey Deaver

‘Beautifully written’
Daily Telegraph

‘One of the best detective stories I’ve read’ Ruth Rendell

‘Possibly the best McDermid has written’
Sunday Telegraph

Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Elly Griffiths and Lynda La Plante.

Publisher Review

'One of the all-time greats - special in every way' Lee Child 'This book changed everything I thought I knew about crime fiction' Belinda Bauer, bestselling author of Snap 'Every now and then, a writer transforms the landscape of the literary canon: Val McDermid is one such writer...It both moves and shocks, and yet compels us to read on. A Place of Execution reveals her as a master of her craft' Fiona Cummins, bestselling author of Rattle 'Just mesmerizing' Joseph Knox, bestselling author of Sirens 'A brilliant book. Val McDermid develops each character and location exquisitely, while the story blazes to an astonishing ending' Holly Watt, award winning author of To the Lions 'From the first pages, we know we're in the hands of a master this book will earn its author a place in that rare pantheon - the truly literary suspense novel' Jeffrey Deaver 'Beautifully written ... It may be that McDermid will write better novels than this in the future, but I do not see how' Daily Telegraph 'One of the best detective stories I've read' Ruth Rendell 'A substantial book and an impressive one, possibly the best McDermid has written and it takes this most accomplished writer into higher territory' Sunday Telegraph 'A Place of Execution is a wake-up call to crime writers everywhere. A terrific and original novel, brilliantly executed' Mirror

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible