Publication Date: 16/09/2020 ISBN: 9780374308865 Category:

A Peculiar Peril

Jeff VanderMeer

Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux Inc
Publication Date: 16/09/2020 ISBN: 9780374308865 Category:
Hardback

£15.99

Quantity:

Description

After Jonathan Lambshead’s elusive grandfather dies, the recently orphaned teenager inherits the family mansion – and its contents. Jonathan soon discovers that the mansion’s basement holds more than just oddities: three doors serve as portals, with one leading to an alt-Earth called Aurora, where magic abounds, history has been re-written, and an occult dictator called Aleister Crowley leads an army pillaging alt-Europe. Jonathan learns of his destiny as a member of The Order, a secret society devoted to keeping our world separate from Aurora, and embarks on an epic quest to protect Earth from Crowley’s dark magic.

Over the course of the duology, Jonathan uncovers more of the worlds outside of our own, the magic that permeates them, his own destiny, and the secrets buried in his family history.

Publisher Review

A People Magazine Best Books to Read This Summer 2020 "Taking the peculiar darkness of Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine series and the absurd humor and wit of Terry Pratchett, VanderMeer dreams up a wholly original tale, filled with complexity, imagination, and talking marmots. . . .A wild ride that requires a few leaps of faith from readers, but they're in good hands with VanderMeer, who has a sequel in the works for those who emerge victorious from Aurora." --Booklist, starred review "VanderMeer's sprawling YA debut offers a riotous, slyly sophisticated take on the hero's journey. Boldly drawn characters, sublimely ridiculous worldbuilding, and a witty, prismatic narrative further distinguish the unique tale." --Publishers Weekly "A madcap marathon portal fantasy . . . An enthusiastic hodgepodge of antique fantasy elements . . . touches of cosmic horror, clever wordplay, genre deconstruction, and butt humor, all tied together with a just-go-with-it fever-dream logic." --Kirkus Reviews "A wicked read that features teen heroes, occult villains, talking animals, and alt-universes, all in VanderMeer's unique style." --Nerdist "Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss." --Paste Magazine

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible