Publication Date: 14/02/2014 ISBN: 9781783292394 Category:

A Natural History of Dragons

Marie Brennan

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
Publication Date: 14/02/2014 ISBN: 9781783292394 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Everyone knows Isabella, Lady Trent, to be the world’s preeminent dragon naturalist. Here at last, in her own words, is the true story of a pioneering spirit who risked her reputation, prospects, and her life to satisfy scientific curiosity; of how she sought true love despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the mountains of Vystrana, where she made discoveries that would change the world.

Publisher Review

"Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve!"--Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of "Touchstone, "on "A Natural History of Dragons""Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity.""--Publishers Weekly "(Starred Review)"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book.""--RT Book Reviews""Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing. A sort of Victorian why-what-whodunit embellished by Brennan's singular upgrade of a fantasy bromide and revitalizingly different viewpoint.""--Kirkus Reviews""Lady Trent is the Jane Goodall of dragonkind, and I'm glad she's finally sharing her story with the world."--Jim C. Hines, author of "Libriomancer"""A Natural History of Dragons" stands somewhere between Naomi Novik and Elizabeth Peters, but rock-solidly in its own world and on its own terms. Highly recommended."--Daniel Fox, author of "Dragon in Chains"

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible