Publication Date: 07/05/2015 ISBN: 9781444775815 Category:

A Man Called Ove

Fredrik Backman

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 07/05/2015 ISBN: 9781444775815 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and David Nicholl’s US.

New York Times bestseller

‘Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail

‘Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

Publisher Review

A charming debut. * People * An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. * Sunday Express * A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. -- Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale. -- Ben Fogle Delightful ... the perfect holiday read. * Evening Standard *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible