Publication Date: 10/02/2022 ISBN: 9780861541669 Category:

A Loyal Traitor

Tim Glister

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Publication Date: 10/02/2022 ISBN: 9780861541669 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Quantity:

Description

THE TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTH

CHOICE MAGAZINE HARDBACK OF THE MONTH

‘A thoroughly gripping spy thriller… Captures the high stakes paranoia of the era brilliantly.’ Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13

‘Intelligent, involving and gripping.’ Choice

‘Considered and entertaining, I was drawn in from page one.’ Charlotte Philby, author of Part of the Family

Duty or honour. Which would you betray?

It’s 1966. London is swinging, and the Cold War is spiralling.

Clear cut lines have faded to grey areas. Whispers of conspiracies are everywhere. Spies on both sides of the iron curtain are running in circles, chasing constant plots and counterplots. And MI5 agent Richard Knox is tired of all of it.

But when Abey Bennett, his CIA comrade in arms, appears in London with a ghost from Knox’s past and a terrifying warning that could change the balance of power in the Cold War for good, he has to fight to save the future.

He must also face an agonising choice: who will he believe, and who will he betray – his duty to his country or his loyalty to his friends?

Publisher Review

'A Loyal Traitor is a thoroughly gripping spy thriller. Tim Glister puts the reader at the heart of the Cold War and captures the high stakes paranoia of the era brilliantly.' -- Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13 'Stunningly authentic, masterfully plotted and brilliantly composed, this is historical thriller writing at its very best.' -- Matthew Richardson, author of The Insider 'Original, gritty and compelling, A Loyal Traitor cements Glister's reputation as a master storyteller. Fans of John le Carre will love this!' -- Awais Khan, author of No Honour 'A Loyal Traitor is an accomplished and atmospheric spy novel with an original protagonist and a burning question at its heart. Considered and entertaining, I was drawn in from page one.' -- Charlotte Philby, author of Part of the Family 'It is incredibly satisfying reading a follow-up that not only matches but surpasses the original... This is superior stuff. A lean, intelligent espionage thriller skilfully rendering not just the messy truth of Cold War operations, but the intimate emotional toll of such work.... I love how the action globetrots between numerous compellingly drawn locations - Haiti, Moscow, Geneva, the Kent countryside, a Soviet sub prowling British waters - yet, it feels very much a London novel. Soho and Smithfield, Highgate and Haringay. Up the Strand and down Green Lanes. The city is pressed into the book like a fingerprint.' -- Dominic Nolan, author of the Abigail Boone series 'Tim Glister is creating such an elegant and vivid style of his own. This is another pitch perfect portrayal of a Cold War crisis. Glister creates a distinctive and fascinating thriller, which I hugely enjoyed.' -- Holly Watt, author of To the Lions Praise for Red Corona: 'This pitch-perfect debut - a gripping espionage thriller in the vein of Charles Cumming, Tom Rob Smith and Mick Herron - signals the arrival of a remarkable talent.' A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window 'An entertaining blend of Le Carre-like in-house establishment rivalries and sheer propulsive action reminiscent of Len Deighton.' Maxim Jakubowski 'A thoroughly engaging spy thriller that had me gripped from start to finish and left me desperate for more!' S. J. Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep 'An entertaining, not to say nostalgic, espionage thriller.' The Times Crime Club

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible