Publication Date: 07/05/2015 ISBN: 9780241202920 Category:

Three Novels by Cesar Aira

Cesar Aira

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 07/05/2015 ISBN: 9780241202920 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

Three novels by Cesar Aira combines three short novels by the cult Argentinian writer in one beautifully designed box set.

Irreverent, playful, provocative and prolific, Argentinian author Cesar Aira has written over seventy books and has been acknowledged internationally to be one of the most original and provocative authors in world literature. Collected here are three of his novellas, to be published for the very first time in the UK.

In Ghosts, an immigrant worker’s family are squatting on the haunted construction site of a luxury condominium building. All of the workmen and their families see the ghosts which float around the place, but one teenage girl’s interest in them becomes so intense that her mother realizes her life is in the balance. An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter tells of a point in the life of German painter Johann Moritz Rugendas, when he visits Latin America to paint its spectacular landscapes. There, a strange episode interrupts his trip and irreversibly marks him for life. And in The Literary Conference, a young translator called Cesar Aira travels to a literary conference, intent on world domination . . .

Praise for Cesar Aira:

‘Once you’ve started reading Aira, you don’t want to stop’ Roberto Bolano

‘Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald’ Los Angeles Times

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible